LAWA Board of Directors City Member Election on September 29

Posted: Sep 24 2017
The upcoming city member election for the Lake Agassiz Water Authority (LAWA) Board of Directors is scheduled for September 29, 2017 at the North Dakota League of Cities Conference. LAWA is comprised of cities and water districts in the central North Dakota and the Red River Valley, including 13 eastern counties in North Dakota and three cities in Minnesota.  The LAWA Board represents the users of the Red River Valley Water Supply Project (RRVWSP).

 Twelve elected members and one associate member make up the LAWA Board.  Each member serves a two-year term. Six of the members and one associate member represent cities, and six members represent rural water districts.  LAWA Board member eligibility is dependent on geographic location which is explained in North Dakota’s Century Code, section 61-39-03. (link to  In addition, candidates who wish to serve on the LAWA Board must be from a city that has signed a development agreement with LAWA in support of the RRVWSP.   
The LAWA Board of Directors currently includes the following members:
  • Board Chairman Tim Mahoney, Fargo Mayor
  • Vice Chairman Ken Vein, Grand Forks City Council
  • Carol Siegert, Hunter, ND
  • Ralf Mehnert-Meland, Moorhead, MN
  • Dave Carlsrud, Valley City Mayor
  • John Hancock, Agassiz Water Users District
  • Mark Johnson, Cass Rural Water Users District
  • Rick Bigwood, Northeast Regional Water District
  • LaVonne Althoff, Southeast Water Users District
  • Bob Keller, Stutsman Rural Water District
  • Keith Nilson, Walsh Rural Water District
  • Associate Member Don Bajumpaa, Wahpeton, ND

Six city members will be elected Friday, September 29 at 4:30 p.m. in the Overture Room at the Delta by Marriott Hotel (formerly the Ramada Plaza Suites) at 1635 42nd Street South in Fargo.  For more information about LAWA, please visit