LAWA Board of Directors Election Results

Posted: Dec 14 2017
The Lake Agassiz Water Authority (LAWA) Board of Directors held a successful election for the Board’s city members in September at the North Dakota League of Cities Conference. LAWA is comprised of cities and water districts in central North Dakota and the Red River Valley, including 13 eastern counties in North Dakota and 3 cities in Minnesota.  The LAWA Board represents the users of the Red River Valley Water Supply Project (RRVWSP).

In all, 12 elected members and 2 associate members make up the LAWA Board.  Each member serves a two-year term. Six of the members and two associate members represent cities, and six members represent rural water districts.
The LAWA Board of Directors currently includes the following members:
  • Chairman Tim Mahoney, City of Fargo
  • Vice Chairman, Ken Vein, City of Grand Forks
  • Ralf Mehnert-Meland, City of Moorhead, MN
  • Dave Carlsrud, City of Valley City
  • Don Moen, City of Mayville
  • Neil Fandrich, City of Carrington
  • John Hancock, Agassiz Water Users District
  • Mark Johnson, Cass Rural Water Users District
  • Rick Bigwood, Northeast Regional Water District
  • Lavonne Althoff, Southeast Water Users District
  • Bob Keller, Stutsman Rural Water District
  • Keith Nilson, Walsh Rural Water District
  • Associate Member Don Bajumpaa, City of Wahpeton
  • Associate Member Carol Siegert, City of Hunter
The election for rural water district representatives on the LAWA Board will be held in 2018.